Founded in 1880 as St. Mark’s football club, Manchester City entered the English Football League in 1899 and won the FA Cup in 1904. Since that time, the club has had its ups and downs, being relegated as far down as the third division before being bought by the Abu Dhabi United Group, then going on to win the  Premier League and become the only team in history to get 100 points in a single season.

In recent years, Manchester City have proved themselves to be a footballing powerhouse time and time again, and where the fortunes of other clubs, like Liverpool, Chelsea, and even local rivals Manchester United have risen and fallen in recent years, City have consistently proven themselves to be an excellent team.

Their commitment and the quality of their players have turned them into a consistent favorite when it comes to who will win the Premier League. In this article, we’ll be looking at some of the players who got Manchester City to where they are now.

Mike Summerbee

Mike Summerbee retains the record as the only Manchester City player to have ever started every single match in a season, never being injured or coming on as a substitute. Summerbee went on to make 452 appearances for a club side that won the First Division trophy, the FA Cup and the league cup.

Unsurprisingly, the fans voted Summerbee Player of the Year for two consecutive years in 72 and 73.

Vincent Kompany

Both a Manchester City and Premier League hero, Vincent Kompany was a defensive stalwart for the City and was the captain when they won four Premier League titles. Amazingly, he came to the club for just £8 million in 2008.

In recognition of his skills, he was included in the Premier League Team of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2014, as well as being declared Premier League Player of the Season in 2012. Despite moving on to the Dutch side Anderlecht in 2019, Kompany remains an ambassador for Manchester City.

Bert Trautmann

Part of what makes a great player is commitment, and you don’t get much more committed than Bert Trautmann. Trautmann is probably best remembered for playing for an amazing 17 minutes during the 1956 FA Cup Final with a broken neck! Manchester City went on to win the game and the cup.

Trautmann’s start at the club was a little rocky. He was a former pilot who has been shot down over England and captured.

The decision to sign him to City was initially very unpopular, but Trautmann’s performances and his constant efforts to heal the divides won over the crowds and eventually won him the Player of the Year in 1956.

David Silva

David Silva arrived at Manchester City as a World Cup winner and has brought the speed, flair, and passing sense that won him the highest honor in international football with Spain.

Silva has earned the nickname “Merlin” for his magic touch and has played in over 400 games for the club, winning two Football League Cups,  two Premier League titles and the FA Cup. His constant commitment to the club and to playing excellent football earned him the Manchester City player of the season for the 2016-17 season.

Sergio Aguero

Manchester City’s record goalscorer, Sergio Aguero arrived at the club with a bang, scoring two goals on his debut. He also ended that season with the goal that brought the Premier League title back to the Etihad for the first time in 44 years.

Fast on his feet, with a delicate touch but also the strength to hold of some of the strongest defenders in the Premier League, Aguero is a menace to the goal of any opponent and is indicative of the kind of football played by Manchester City.

Given his skills and popularity, it most likely won’t be long until he has his own statue outside the Etihad stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here