A record number of young people have taken part in this year’s national Youth Parliament elections with the winning candidates announced this week.

More than 18,000 votes were cast following a citywide poll to choose who will represent young people in Manchester – and the city at a national level at the UK Youth Parliament.

The newly elected Manchester Youth Parliament (MYPs) representatives will be:

Alishba Amir, 16, Wright Robinson High School

Oscar Brooker, 15, Manchester Enterprise Academy

Jannatul Tafsir Munshi Chowdhury, 16, Manchester High School for Girls

The MYPs work with local leaders to help shape the city for children and young people and drive campaigns to make change in their local area – and at a national level.

The trio will each serve for a two-year term, giving young people a platform to have a say in decisions affecting young people locally – amplifying the views of children and young people and what is important to them. This includes listening to marginalised groups, organising events, meeting MPs, lobbying for change, campaigning and appearing in the media.

The elected youth representatives are also able to access training and other opportunities through the British Youth Council and UK Youth Parliament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here