Just seven countries remain on the Government’s Red List as it announced that forty seven countries covering all of Africa and Asia and most of south and central America have been removed from the list, ending the requirement for travellers to hotel quarantine on their return.

The seven countries remaining on the red list are Colombia, Peru, Ecuador, Panama, Haiti, Venezuela and the Dominican Republic.

The changes will come into effect from 4am on Monday.

“The measures announced today mark the next step as we continue to open up travel and provide stability for passengers and industry while remaining on track to keep travel open for good” tweeted the Transport Secretary Grant Shapps

Charlie Cornish, MAG CEO, said: “This is brilliant news for British people who are desperate to travel overseas on holiday, to visit friends and family or for business.

“Customers can now book with confidence, safe in the knowledge that testing is affordable and easy to understand.

“Removing so many countries from the red list gives people the most choice they have had since before the pandemic, which will help stimulate the recovery of the UK’s prized aviation sector.

“We look forward to welcoming passengers taking advantage of these changes through our airports in the weeks and months ahead.”

”Although today’s announcement does not directly impact any of the destinations we are currently operating to, we applaud the Government for the steps it is taking to reopen international travel properly. There is still a way to go and we will continue to call for travel to be made easier, in particular around testing, but we are definitely on the right track. Our programmes for this Winter and Summer 22 are shaping up to be very busy indeed, meaning we are looking ahead with real confidence.”said Steve Heapy, CEO of Jet2.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here