This year’s longlist has been chosen by a panel of industry experts and alumni artists including Billie Eilish, Stormzy, Jorja Smith, Wolf Alice, AJ Tracey, YUNGBLUD, Foals, and Charli XCX.

The acts are (in alphabetical order):

  • Alfie Templeman
  • Bree Runway
  • Dutchavelli
  • girl in red
  • Greentea Peng
  • Holly Humberstone
  • Pa Salieu
  • The Lathums

Last year Celeste was crowned the winner ahead of a strong longlist featuring the likes of YUNGBLUD, Arlo Parks and Beabadoobee. Artists named on the list over the years include Stormzy, Adele, Sam Smith, Lady Gaga, Foals, Dizzee Rascal and Lewis Capaldi.

The countdown of the Top 5 will kick off on Sunday 3 January and will continue throughout the week. The Sound of 2021 winner will be announced on Thursday 7 January 2021.

The list was compiled using recommendations from over 160 influential music experts, including artists, DJs, radio and TV producers, journalists, streaming experts and festival bookers.

All participants were asked to name their favourite three new acts, who could be performers from any country and any musical genre, whether or not they are signed. They cannot have been the lead artist on a UK top ten album or more than one UK top ten single before 30 October 2020.

They must not already be widely known by the UK general public (for example, a member of a hit band going solo, a soap star or a winner of a national talent search show such as X Factor or The Voice in the last three years).

Further details of the panel and how the list was compiled are available on the BBC Music Sound Of 2021 website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here