Greater Manchester’s MP came out in force last night to defeat Theresa May’s Government flagship EU withdrawal bill.

They backed an amendment by the former Tory attorney general Dominic Grieve to enshrine in law parliament’s right to a meaningful vote on the Brexit deal rather than simply allow the executive to decide, hours before the Prime Minister flew to Brussels for a meeting with her European counterparts.

Eleven Tory MP’s backed the Amendment 7 including the former education secretary Nicky Morgan and former business minister Anna Soubry, as the government was defeated by 309 votes to 305.

Manchester Central MP Lucy Powell described the vote as an historic vote for Parliament, a view echoed by Oldham’s Jim McMahon who tweeted that tonight by a majority of MP’s Parliament asserted its responsibility to the people.

Angela Rayner added in a tweet that the defeat for the government was the fault of the PM who just wouldn’t listen and her dismissive, arrogant attitude backfired in dramatic style, adding

“Hats off to the Tory MPs who stuck with their principles despite severe pressure.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here